



Annual Honors & Awards Convocation

April 29, 2024

Welcome and Introduction

Dr. Muhammad Kehnemouyi, Interim Vice President and Provost

Presentation of the Presidential Academic Excellence Award

Dr. Jermaine F. Williams, President

Presentation of Honors Program Scholars Awards

Honors Scholar Award	Dr. Lucy Laufe
Renaissance Scholar of the Year Award	Ms. Joan Naake
Early College Honors Student of the Year Award	Dr. Rebin Muhammad
STEM Scholars Honors Student of the Year Award	Dr. Tom Chen

Presentation of the Academic Achievement Awards

Excellence in Accounting Award Outstanding Business Student Award	Dr. Margaret Tabiri
Mary Gallagher Award for Anthropology	Dr. Maria Sprehn
Student Excellence Award in Integrated English, Reading and Writing (IERW) Student Excellence Award in Writing	Ms. Theron Coleman and Ms. Teresa Lew
Peer Mentor Excellence Award	Ms. Deborah Stuart
The Sapling Award for Peer Tutor Growth	Ms. Elysse Meredith and Ms. Mimi Yu
Community Health Student of the Year Award	Dr. Joanna Kilby
Excellence in International Studies Award Excellence in Political Science Award	Ms. Jennifer Haydel
Kenneth P. Levenson Memorial Award in History & Political Science	Dr. Kurt Borkman
Excellence in World Languages Award	Ms. Carla Naranjo

Biology Student Achievement Award	Ms. Kiersten Newtoff
Biotechnology Achievement Award Excellence in Chemistry Award Excellence in Organic Chemistry Award	Ms. Susan Bontems
Excellence in Computer Science Award	Dr. Alla Webb and Ms. Farnaz Eivazi
Excellence in Cybersecurity Award	Ms. Silvia Vargas
Engineering: Athena Award MVP Award for Engineering Teamwork	Ms. Monica Mellini
Outstanding Student in Mathematics Award	Dr. Zhou (Jojo) Dong and Ms. Nafeesa Azizi
STEM Ambassador of the Year Award	Ms. Nafeesa Azizi

Closing Remarks

Dr. Muhammad Kehnemouyi

Honors Program Scholar Awards

Honors Scholar Award	Vladimir Alvarado Paola Cardona Alexandra Lindsay Lady Sanjines Brian Shaffer	
Renaissance Scholar of the Year Award	Alexandra Lindsay Rishi Nixon Brian Shaffer	
Early College Honors Student of the Year Award	Veer Banwait	
STEM Scholars Honors Student of the Year Award	Brian Shaffer	
Academic Achievement Awards		
Excellence in Accounting Award	Vincent Dao Julio Esmieu Carter Hyde	

Outstanding Business Student Award

Mary Gallagher Award for Anthropology

Student Excellence Award in Integrated English, Reading and Writing (IERW)

Student Excellence Award in Writing

Sophia Kalinyak Omari Ogbu Emma Overholt Ishan Pahwa

Panisara Sueprasert Edison Wu Shin La Wun

Lucas Craven

Karen Casique Anastasia Merkulova

Catrina Sustaita

Maahira Rubaiya Lujala Shakya Svetlana Venediktova

Sahana Audhithan Thanya Balamurugan Lucas Craven Ishan Gomber Isoken Ikpea Vansh Sharma

Peer Mentor Excellence Award

The Sapling Award for Peer Tutor Growth	Alice Phann
Community Health Student of the Year Award	Edith Angel Carrasco
Excellence in International Studies Award	Soha Mustafa
Excellence in Political Science Award	Samara Husain Aline Skains
Kenneth P. Levenson Memorial Award in History & Political Science	Jack Davis
Excellence in World Languages Award	Orion Chandler
Biology Student Achievement Award	Julian Dumayas
Biotechnology Achievement Award	Nisha Dev Williams Ochoa
Excellence in Chemistry Award	Toan Nguyen
Excellence in Organic Chemistry Award	Anna Catilena
Excellence in Computer Science Award	Rayn Anwar Veer Banwait William Chiang Natalie Figueira Cybil Kechem

Excellence in Cybersecurity Award

Kweku Agyepong Femina Amoo Dominique Davis Alexandra El Kochta Flor Enriquez Guy Stephane Haleu Firaol Nigus Henok Semu Tayven Smith Nikola Vuckovic

Kate Lano Sonu Mahat Tara Murugesan Patrick Syme

Academic Achievement Awards

(continued)

Engineering: Athena Award	Victor Matthias
MVP Award for Engineering Teamwork	Fabian Chombo Lizarraga Derrick Jones Vambley Manhica David Paz Menendez David Sanders
Outstanding Student in Mathematics Award	Michael Lopez
STEM Ambassador of the Year Award	Michael Lopez

The list of awards and student recipients can also be found on the Honors & Awards Convocation webpage. montgomerycollege.edu/gt-honors-convocation

Congratulations, Students! We are so proud of you!

Victor Matthias

